Thanksgiving

Is it me or is Thanksgiving in Canada this year seems to be early on in the calendar?  It almost took me by surprise until my boyfriend asked me to join his family for Thanksgiving dinner.

It is a time for family and a time to reflect at the things you are thankful for.  Some people seem to forget that fact and for some reason, the family component is left out.  Either there isn’t enough room to invite everyone or you can’t seem to co-ordinate the days with the whole family so someone gets left out.

With a little thought, Thanksgiving dinner can be great for the entire family.  I’m lucky to have a family that enjoys sharing time with each other and realizes that events like this, is something to bring us all together.  My sister and brother-in-law have young children so we share our time by having dinner at their place sometimes and having dinner at our place sometimes as well.  They also go and have dinner with his parents so for a long weekend, we end up having two dinners and since I love turkey and pumpkin pie, it’s great for me.

My boyfriend and I have a long distance relationship so events such as this become difficult since it’s hard to co-ordinate our time.  With his big family living so far from me, joining them for dinner with my daughter is not easy as they don’t have the room to accommodate the two of us.  Fortunately, the theme of Thanksgiving is family so my daughter and I have plenty of time to spend with my sister, parents, brother-in-law and nieces so we’re not left out.

After being in an accident in January 2013, I thank God that I am here to continue sharing this day with the people I care about and who care about me.  I love my family and through better or worse, the love is unconditional and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

When it comes to thanks, I am thankful for my eyes being open to what was otherwise closed to me.  Don’t live in fear, share your dreams and thoughts and be kind to others in a way that you would like to be treated. There is always a good way to deliver bad or uncomfortable news, so be honest, even if you think you’re being too harsh.  No one likes to hear the truth about themselves but someday, you may have to save someone’s life and you’ll be thanked for it.

Above all else, be yourself.

Enjoy Thanksgiving and don’t be alone – spend it with friends, family, co-workers or even your pets.  You are important to someone, even if you don’t realize it or don’t get praised for it.

 

By J. Catherine Andrew Posted in Blog

Leave a Reply

