How Late Is Too Late?

When someone picks up the phone to call someone else, does the time really matter? I think it does.

I never used to call any of my friends after 9pm, when there were young children in the house. I liked it when I was asked what was the best time to call.

I remember after I got divorced and started painstakingly dating, I had guys call me up until midnight on a weekday and I was furious. As a single mother who had a full time job, I thought it was rude and disrespectful.

Even now, the person I’m dating insists on calling me 15 minutes before I have to go to bed. What kind of meaningful conversation are we supposed to get into when I have my eye on the clock? Even after telling him that it would be better appreciated calling earlier, that doesn’t work for him. Therefore, he should be able to call whenever it suits him? Not a chance! He gets voicemail.

People don’t like getting late phone calls. The best thing you can do when you start making friends with people at work, school or in a relationship is ask when’s the best time to call your place. It shows respect and thoughtfulness and a good basis for something that can last awhile.

 

By J. Catherine Andrew Posted in Comment

Leave a Reply

