DIET OR A HEALTHY LIFESTYLE?

I’m sure you heard it before …. diet, lifestyle changes…these all come from people who are trying to lose weight and grueling over the fact that you can’t enjoy your favorite foods.

diet

So what if you’re overweight?  Who’s problem is it anyway, if not mine?  Usually, that’s what I’ve heard from some of the people I know.  I don’t have a thin, model-type physique either.  I try to stay healthy, work towards a lifestyle that I can bare and foods that I enjoy that are not overly populated in calories and crap that your body spits out at the end of the day.

No one has to tell you what to do in regards to your body and sometimes you think that you don’t want to deprive yourself of the good things in life.  I used to think that the best things for you are overpriced and taste bad.  However, although some of that is still true, there are other great things that taste good and that are good for you.

Taking care of you…for yourself and your family is important.  Live long and healthy enough to enjoy the only life you have, with your friends, family, in your job and for your own hobbies and things you want to enjoy.

No one has to tell you what to do, you know that.  You also know that a healthy lifestyle is important.  The worst part is that you know it is a long, arduous battle towards keeping a good body weight and a lifestyle you can endure.

Technology helps.  I like to use my blackberry to my advantage and utilize an app that allows me to count my calories to ensure I don’t go over my daily intake for the amount of weight I want to lose.  I also use another app that allows me to obtain the calorie count of foods I don’t have easy access to.

At first it was a pain to enter in my foods and calories but after a while, I got used to what foods had certain calories and it became much faster.  Remember, with anything new, it takes time until you get the hang of it and then you’re on a roll.

I started off with determining how many calories I would need to consume in order for me to lose the amount of weight I wanted to, within a determinable amount of time.  In other words, I calculated how many calories I would need to digest in order for me to lose one pound a week, without exercise.  I figured with the addition of exercising on my terms, I can lose more.

(Don’t laugh)  It’s hard to lose 1 pound a week when it wasn’t in your usual regime. Once I get a momentum going, I am sure to target for losing more.  Just check Google for any site that allows you to enter your calculations (gender, age, current weight, height and personal goal).

Then using the Blackberry App Brio Calorie Tracker, I enter my food each day throughout the day for breakfast, lunch, dinner and any snacks and it warns me when I am getting close to my daily intake.  There is another app My Fitness Pal that uses the data on your phone to give you more specific readings on the foods you eat, giving you not only calories but cholesterol, protein, vitamins, etc… but I don’t need to be that specific.

With perseverance and patience….lots of patience, you can lose a little at a time and before you know it, your favorite clothes will fit better on you than it did before.  You can also cheat and eat a few dangerous foods, as long as you get back on track quickly.

It’s work but who said life wasn’t work?  Do yourself a favour and eat smart, play more and stay active.  A healthy lifestyle of the body and mind will keep your heart pumping to well into your late nineties and hell…..you could live to 110!

J Andrew

6 comments on “DIET OR A HEALTHY LIFESTYLE?

  1. I am really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into
    any browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog audience have complained about my blog not
    working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

    • Actually, I know what you mean. Sometimes what works in the Internet Explorer does not work in Firefox. I like to use Google Chrome since most of my work doesn’t give me trouble to post. Unfortunately, I am not sure what you can do as that is not my expertise. However, if you speak to the support staff of the posting platform you are using to run your site, then I am sure someone will be able to help you. I’m sorry if I couldn’t be more help than that.

      Jenn

  2. I do agree with all of the ideas you have presented to your
    post. They’re very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for beginners. May you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that
    automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • Actually, the WordPress blog platform that I am using has a widget that allows you to post to Twitter when you automatically post your entry. Whatever site you are using to post your blog or material, check to see what their widgets are. Usually, there is something available for you to use for Twitter. I hope this helps.

      Jenn

Leave a Reply

