The Holidays….Are You Ever Ready?

I told myself this year that I would get started as early as November to start buying my gifts for Christmas.  I was able to buy a few things but was again left with buying the bulk of my presents on the last week before Christmas!  Now I feel the crunch of the days upon me and will purchase the remaining items before the weekend.  The last thing I want to do is go to the store during the last weekend before Christmas Day.

When I think of the few presents I already have wrapped up and think about being with my family on the 25th, sometimes it’s hard to get into the festive season when you know that some people have lost their loved ones.  I’ve been there and it’s very hard to put a smile on your face when you see everyone enjoying the season better than you.

However, I hate repeating the same old sentence that I am sure you have heard from your parents before but “things could be worse”, and it’s true — things could be worse.  It’s hard to stay optimistic but I try.  As corny as it may seem, I know life is not easy and if you are genuinely trying to make ends meet and living an honest life, then things will get better.

There were times that I truly didn’t think I was going to make it through, but I had friends and family to comfort me and family doesn’t have to be the traditional kind.  Anyone that has been in your life, who you consider family and not by blood, is family.  Those friends that have been there for you, will always be there for you.  When you think you are alone, you probably aren’t.  Co-workers and acquaintances can become friends.

The holiday season makes me realize that the one thing everyone has in common – is heart.  We end up coming together during hard times and we hold each other up through the roughest part of our lives.

When you want to give a gift to someone who has been there for you and you can’t afford it, give them something else instead – like your time.  We work, we run from one job to another, we take care of our children and sometimes we don’t get a chance to appreciate the things we do and how we effect those around us.  Take a moment this holiday season and say “I love you” to your family and friends who you care so much about.

Be safe, be happy and look forward to the New Year. 

untitled

Leave a Reply

