Halloween

My self discovery blog wouldn’t be complete without a word about Halloween, now would it?  Part of discovering yourself is wondering if you are all for the season or not.  Do you like to dress up and if so, why?

When I was younger, I was just as excited about getting lots of candy door-to-door as I was with dressing up in any outfit I wanted to be.  My parents didn’t understand Halloween but they allowed me to experience every aspect of it.

Now that I am an adult, I still love to dress up once a year and enjoy myself with the rest of the like-minded party goers on Saturday night.  I have been Storm from the Ex-Men, a pirate, a witch, a goth fairy, a nurse, a 70’s hippie, a vampire mistress and the list goes on.  I always had fun and anticipated what costume to wear for the next year.

So why do you do it?  I like to create a character that I could have been if the world was a paranormal fantasy land.  Why not?  I’m a writer and it’s awesome to create so why not do so once a year when you actually get the opportunity to do so without looking like a freak.

Some people just like the scary aspect to it and it does scare the crap out of me.  The only movies that I have truly enjoyed watching that represents Halloween is the classic Halloween movie with Jamie L. Curtis, as well as Halloween 2 and Halloween H2O.  I am also a kid at heart so besides the scary stuff, I like the Peanuts Halloween Charlie Brown and Family Channels Halloweentown and Twitches.

If you’ve never discovered dressing up and becoming someone else for a night, you should give it a try.  Talk about losing your inhibitions!  I have seen men dress up as women and no one cared – actually they thought it was truly funny.  I have seen amazing costumes and experienced for one night, what it was to feel free even if it was a temporary illusion.  The best part is that everyone felt the same way so you were a part of something bigger than yourself.

I hope you find a way to enjoy Halloween this Saturday, October 27, 2012 and look back and think how much fun you had.  When you go back to work on Monday, it’s back to routine and being who you truly are.

Enjoy!

By J. Catherine Andrew Posted in Blog

Leave a Reply

